A Fine Friend Indeed

This weekend I got to do something very, very special. I spent the whole weekend with my best friend Lilli. We set off for the Hamptons Friday night with snacks and swimsuits. We returned Sunday night sunburned and sleepy.

Lilli works hard (read: has a real job and works 10am-6pm). I work hard (read: have weird hours like 3pm-1am). We both have boyfriends and responsibilities and blah, blah, blah. More often than not we make time for a glass of wine and a catch up (at the very least a long phone chat). But, it was so very special to be able to go away for the weekend, just the two of us. Lilli is an exceptional kind of friend who has taught me many things – but mostly she has taught me how to be a good friend. Does everyone have a person in their life that does this? It seems like a very important lesson to learn and one that I am continuously working on. In fact, that right there is what she taught me about friendship. People are always changing and evolving and as a result friendships need consistent care. This seems very obvious I am sure but, it has taken me a long time to figure out.  For some reason, I used to feel that if you were friends with someone, really good friends, then that was just it. They were your friend forever and you never had to worry again. But my real friends, my most important people, demand more from me. They demand my time and my love; they demand that our friendship be a priority in my life. They ask me to always share myself with them – this one is really important for me. I’ve spent a considerable amount of time learning that I am a disservice to my relationships if I am ever keeping myself from them. My instinct is often to save people from my sadness. To avoid sharing it because I fear it won’t be accepted. Lilli was the very first person to teach me that in fact, everything was the opposite of what I thought (she broke this news to me very gently in her Lilli way). Thank God she’s in my world, teaching me to be a better person and friend everyday. Friendship is a thing to be enjoyed and this weekend we did just that: we lay by the pool, ate blueberries for breakfast and made cocktails out of the blackberries that we picked at a farm. We read books and watched GIRLS and ran into the ocean holding hands.

3 thoughts on “A Fine Friend Indeed

  1. You actually make it appear so easy with your presentation
    but I to find this matter to be really one thing that I feel I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and extremely vast for me.
    I’m taking a look forward on your subsequent post, I will try to get the dangle of it!

Leave a Reply

