Thoughts and Thunderstorms

thunderstorm

Last night, from the rooftop of my friend’s apartment in Bedstuy I watched the most beautiful and ominous storm. A bunch of us were on the roof celebrating (more on that later) and suddenly the drinking and the guacamole munching stopped so we could watch the sky transform. Their rooftop is dotted with wicker couches and just happens to have a perfect view of the Manhattan skyline. We all sat in our cozy chairs, glass in hand and watched the panorama of skyscrapers and storms. We saw the rainstorm consume Manhattan, turning it the deepest, darkest grey and when it was done it moved east, towards Brooklyn. We sat. We waited. We ogled the swirling purple and grey above us. We knew the rain would come. And finally, it did. In fat, wet, slow droplets. We all ran inside with our Prosecco and our wine glasses, escaping the storm and returning to the party. But my, what an exquisite experience, watching the shifting colors above us and occasionally looking behind us at a perfectly clear sky.

This weekend in Brooklyn is all celebration. Last night, I celebrated my delightful friend Christina’s golden birthday. We ate watermelon and feta cheese salad, drank wine and opened presents and danced to Lady Gaga. Tomorrow is my first birthday celebration; Monday is my real birthday and between now and then is nothing but an excuse to enjoy. When it comes to birthdays, I’m in it for the long haul, the real deal, go big or go home. This year, the consolation prize for having my birthday on a day as lame as Monday is that we get to start celebrating it on Friday! I have a very good friend coming into town from D.C. for the weekend, Michael is coming up for Sunday, Monday and Tuesday and my friends are all graciously going forward with my insane requests. I am a very lucky girl.

The rest of my Summer is a little murky right now. Michael and I are trying to get our road trip off the ground, work is moving slowly and I am just not quite sure what August looks like for me. I’m still meditating every morning and it has been lovely. Even though things are unclear, I find myself more at ease with the ambiguity than ever before – almost excited by it.  Let’s say intrigued. All that being said, I am looking forward to the simplicity of the week ahead: friends and celebrating and love.  This summer has been a lot about space for me. Michael went to Williamstown, my therapist is on leave, Christina was out of town – it just seemed like I was supposed to figure out some difficult things on my own. I think it’s been really important to me, invaluable actually. But for the next few days I am excited to be the birthday girl, be present and have all the people I love around me.

My Monday post may well be on Tuesday because I will be a busy birthday lady. Happy weekend!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts and Thunderstorms

  1. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog.

    I am hoping to see the same high-grade content by you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get
    my own blog now 😉

Leave a Reply

