Weekend Whimsy: Women

Partial smile on these mug shots from female civil rights activists. 1961 Mississippi Freedom Riders. Via tomboystyle.com

Partial smile on these mug shots from female civil rights activists. 1961 Mississippi Freedom Riders. Via tomboystyle.com

This week I have been thinking a lot about women and I am finding my gender insanely inspiring! It has taken me a long time to really learn to value what it means to be a woman (and it definitely something I am still learning about) but what I’ve figured out so far is, I sort of love it! So, enjoy the whimsy and enjoy the weekend folks!

I’m reading the Anne-Marie Slaughter article for The Atlantic entitled Why Women Still Can’t Have It All. It is really interesting and I think it portrays some really exciting and important concepts about the future of women for my generation.

I just learned about The Dinner Party by Judy Chicago – it’s an amazing art installtion at The Brooklyn Museum. “The Dinner Party comprises a massive ceremonial banquet, arranged on a triangular table with a total of thirty-nine place settings, each commemorating an important woman from history.The names of another 999 women are inscribed in gold on the white tile floor below the triangular table.” (Via Brooklyn Museum) I am so excited to go visit and discover and learn about women who have made history.

And finally, the amazing Diane Von Furstenberg talking about empowerment on The Conversation (which is the best by the way!)

Also, a great blog to find stylish and awesome women – TomboyStyle 

Weekend Wisdom:

One thought on “Weekend Whimsy: Women

Leave a Reply

