Wash. Rinse. Repeat.

Image

I am obsessively seeking structure these days. I’m craving the color-coded scheduled blocks of time that were so sweetly delivered to me on the first day of a school each year in September. I’m not sure what that says about my inner state, but I want it real bad. I keep finding myself trying to trick my friends into committing to a Sunday night dinner, just so I have some solid time I’m seeing them. Some tangible thing I can come to expect each week. I don’t kow if this is about getting older, or working from home or the impending changes coming my way. Perhaps it is just this post I read recently on the lovely blog Reading My Tea Leaves. Whatever it is, I’ve been daydreaming about Google calendars and time management all month long. I think it’s also something to do with this city. There’s always so much going on: people to see, restaurants to eat at, shows to go to, work to be done – and everyone else has so much on their plate. Time begins to feel so precious and overwhelming. I feel like I can’t block anything off for fear of missing out.

Working from home has it’s benefits but at my worst I am overly flexible because I have the room to be (and then suddenly I’m waking up at 6:30am before a deadline and I’m cursing everyone I saw that week). So a new objective for this month – before Spring is in full swing – is to sit down and find the time to organize my time. It’s going to be all about schedule people.

I’ve also been doing a bit of brainstorming about this blog and I’m thinking of adding a new section called My New York. I’ve been living in the city for a little while now and I think New York is the kind of place where a person can collect all sorts of gems – like a good cobbler or the place to get a perfect chocolate croissant. I am always searching for these spots and putting them in my pocket for my next date or afternoon drinking tea with a friend. I’d love to start sharing them and I think there is a new weekly post in the works. More on that soon. Happy Monday. I hope you’re week is more organized than my own and I hope you manage to find a moment with a cup of coffee and some violets.

2 thoughts on “Wash. Rinse. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

