Weekend Whimsy: Simple Things

It’s a beautiful Spring weekend and I am looking forward to enjoying the sun and some simple pleasures. Tomorrow morning, I’m making pancakes with my boyfriend because lazy mornings with blueberry pancakes and fresh squeezed orange juice are the most important.

I spent this morning at the McCarren Park Green Market – it’s a small market but it’s finally filling up with tulips,  apples and parsnips.

I’m headed to the Shops at The Loom tomorrow for a little date exploring the East Williamsburg/Bushwick area.

Tomorrow is the return of Smorgasburg – it’s outside again and I am ready to lounge on the waterfront eating tasty treats!

I think I might make some homemade ricotta this weekend. My lovely friend Lilli made some for a dinner party last week and it was just delicious. This recipe looks pretty simple.

Happy Weekend Friends.

 

April is National Poetry Month so I’ll be sharing some of my favorite poems this month instead of Weekend Wisdom.

The Guest House 

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
As an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

Mewlana Jalaluddin Rumi
Leave a Reply

