Dad

Image

I was blessed with a beautiful weekend filled with good friends, good food and good weather. It was so wonderful to relax and enjoy myself in the company of the people I love. Today, I enjoyed the sunshine while it lasted and now I am sitting in my kitchen listening to the Summer rain. It’s such a refreshing sound. This June is the wettest on record for NYC and while I am usually a sun worshipper, I have found something soothing about theses rainy afternoons. I know the muggy heat of August is ahead of me and I’m trying to enjoy these breaks in the heat while I can. 

Michael and I have planned our Summer trip this year and I’m very excited to share that we will be taking a road trip from Portland, Oregon to Los Angeles, California. We are beyond excited to see the Red Woods, swim in the ocean, camp out near Big Sur and discover the likes of Portland and San Francisco. We haven’t quite figured out our agenda on all of our stops so any recommendations would be wildly appreciated. I am hoping to blog from the road but we all know how well that turned out last time…

I’m also  excited because Michael and I will be flying to Portland via Austin, TX. This means we’ll stay with my dad for two days before we start our drive. One of these days is my birthday. I can’t remember the last time my dad and I got to celebrate my birthday together and I’m really looking forward to sharing it with him! It’s shaping up to be a beautiful summer…

On the topic of my dad, I was sad not be able to spend this Sunday with him celebrating Father’s Day –  he was in my heart all day long. Today’s post is dedicated to my dad who taught me to love words and to always, always pursue happiness. He’s a pretty amazing guy. I think I feel a post all about him brewing…maybe even a short story. For now, I will leave you with this picture of him and I a few days after I was born and encourage you all to call yours dads today. Because a call on Father’s Day is nice, but a call just because is even nicer.

Have a beautiful weeks folks! 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dad

  1. What a sweetheart you are, lovely picture, wonderful memories – We were beyond excited when you were born and you still fill my heart with joy every single day. Tim will be delighted with your post ….I love you. 🙂

  2. To my most magnanimous and winsome daughter, you are a most wonderful blessing in my life. Your pursuit of excellence is impressive in all that you do. I thank you for dedicating this post to me for this Fathers Day…..a wonderful surprise! love you ~

Leave a Reply

