Finding a Groove

Fall is a season of change. And whilst some of that change is still taking place, the cold weather and I seem to finally be settling in.

Michael’s new schedule has been a real challenge at home. It’s different to have so much time in the house by myself and it’s taken a little getting used to. In fact, I’m still working on it – he’s apt to be in school till 10pm most nights (even Saturday!). I’m a structure loving girl and his school hours have changed the structure we’d grown to love.  My most recent evening-filling activity has been cleaning. I’ve spent the last three nights cleaning out my closet, my chest of drawers, my junk cabinets and so much more. Next week, I’m moving to the storage closet. There is nothing more satisfying or cleansing that getting rid of all of the clutter that’s been swallowing your space. (It takes forever for me to succumb to cleaning as an activity, but once I do, I’m convinced it’s the cure for everything.)

It’s all about adjusting and finding a new groove at my house and I feel like the same could be said for each one of my friends. Something comes along with the chill in Autumn air – the energy to create change.  Summer, with it’s sticky heat and and stretched out days makes for a sloth-like energy. But Fall is momentum. All around me matches are being struck and changes are being made.  It’s wonderful and bewildering, exhausting and exhilarating.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m one of those annoying Fall people who can’t get enough of the hot apple cider and sweater weather, but I often struggle to find my footing amongst all of the fresh starts and bare trees. Change can be daunting. The Earth is changing right now and like it or not, we’re all responding to it in some way or another (even if it’s simply by switching our closets from Summer to Winter).  In the last few years, I’ve learned that there are some small things I can do for myself to make these transitional times a little bit easier. One of those things is so simple, it’s almost embarrassing…

A good book is like a safety blanket for me.  As long as I can whip out my book, escape my worrying mind and travel to some distant world, laugh at some quippy prose or follow a mystery through to it’s reveal, then my day, will be a whole lot more manageable. So, this week, I trundled off to The Strand for a few hours and let myself browse (another instant recipe for happiness). And then, I settled on a book that I’d wanted to read but hadn’t ever really found the right mood for. I should say that the kind of book for this particular quandary is actually pretty important. It can’t be a difficult read. I love an Infinite Jest-sized novel as much as the rest of you, but I need to keep it a little light. (January is my time for mammoth English Lit worthy reading). Books of essays and memoirs are highly recommended – Nora Ephron’s books have gotten me through many a difficult few days.

So when I came across I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley I knew that it was just what the doctor ordered. It’s short, sweet, sad and witty. The perfect thing to lift my mood when I take a crowded subway home at 6pm., a good read for Saturday mornings alone at a coffee shop or Tuesday nights when Michael’s at school late and I’ve got the house to myself. I guess, I’m used to having a companion more often than not. And during times of change, I need one more than ever. A good book, well it’s a damn fine companion.

 

 

Leave a Reply

